STANDARDS COMMITTEE - 14 JUNE 2012

ANNUAL COUNCIL MINUTE AND REPORT ON STANDARDS COMMITTEE UNTIL 30 JUNE 2012

11. STANDARDS COMMITTEE UNTIL 30 JUNE 2012

Consideration was given to the report of the Managing Director (People and Places), as contained on pages 33 to 34 of the Book of Reports, which sought approval to continue the operation of the current Standards Committee until the introduction of a new Standards regime as required by the Localism Act 2011 (the Act).

- RESOLVED: A. That John Cailes and Paul Hanmer have their terms of office extended until 30 June 2012 and continue in the roles of Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Standards Committee respectively for that period of time.
 - B. That the terms of office of Independent Members, Stuart Ibbs, Ben Winstanley and Peter Rogan on the current Standards Committee cease on 30 June 2012 to allow new Standards arrangements to be implemented.
 - C. That the terms of office of the existing Parish representative on the Standards Committee Jacky Citarella be extended until 30 June 2012 and the Parish Councils be advised accordingly, and that the current two vacancies for Standards Committee Parish representatives be filled until 30 June 2012 by Parish Councillors Brian Bailey and David Gallagher from the recruitment exercise conducted in 2011.
 - D. That the Councillors indicated on the revised Appendix 1 circulated at Item 9 on the agenda 'Appointment of Committee etc 2012/13' serve on the Standards Committee until 30 June 2012.
 - E. That it be noted that a Standards Committee and Extraordinary Council will be held in June to introduce a new Standards Regime under the Localism Act 2011 with effect from 1 July 2012 and in the meantime the Standards Committee continue with its existing Terms of Reference and delegations as set out in the Constitution.